Program for New Nurses Recognized with Barnet Fain Quality Award

Barnet Fain

Pictured above: Lifespan board members Jane Williams (far left) and Larry Sadwin (far right) presented the Barnet Fain Quality Award to team members (left to right) Melanie Marco, Jean Mellott, Cynthia Hughes, Dawn Packer, Heather Laplume and Cheryl Jollie, from The Miriam Hospital’s Center for Professional Practice and Innovation.

The Miriam Hospital’s Center for Professional Practice and Innovation was honored at the recent Lifespan Annual Meeting as the recipient of the annual Barnet Fain Quality Award.

Fain AwardTeam members were recognized for their outstanding work to develop The Miriam Hospital’s Newly Licensed Nurse Residency Program.

This residency program is structured to support newly licensed nurses as they transition from academia to practice. The one-year retention rate for nurses who have graduated the program has significantly increased over the past year and is higher than the national average, ensuring a pipeline of developing nurses to support patient care and transmit clinical experience and knowledge. The program won accreditation for a second time in February of 2022.

The Fain Award is given each year to recognize one or more teams or individuals from across the Lifespan system for their outstanding efforts to improve the quality of care or service provided to patients.